Contact Us |  Français
23rd Congress and General Assembly of the International Union of Crystallography - 5 to 12 August 2014 Montreal, Quebec, Canada Home Page
Logos of our sponsors



Batchelor Prize for 2016 is awarded to Professor Raymond E. Goldstein

Raymond E. Goldstein

Batchelor prize 2016The G K Batchelor Prize for 2016 is awarded to Professor Raymond E. Goldstein FRS, Schlumberger Professor of Complex Physical Systems in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics and Fellow of Churchill College, University of Cambridge.

The Prize was awarded after an international panel of experts considered nominations, over 150, received from researchers worldwide. This prestigious prize, sponsored by the Journal of Fluid Mechanics, is awarded every 4 years at the International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics to recognise the achievements of an active scientist who has made significant research contributions to fluid mechanics over the previous decade.

Fluid mechanics is pervasive and plays significant roles throughout most branches of science. This was amply demonstrated by the broad range of disciplines spanned by the short-listed candidates for the Prize, which made comparisons between them very difficult but very interesting for the panel. The Batchelor Prize is awarded for published work that is of great current interest, representing an emerging field of application of Fluid Mechanics or a significant breakthrough in an established branch of the subject.

The Prize is awarded for Professor Goldstein’s pioneering research into active matter fluid mechanics, including work on collective behaviour in bacterial suspensions, synchronisation of flagella in eukaryotic cells and the surface interactions of swimming microorganisms. In particular, the Prize acknowledges the extraordinary degree of experimental sophistication employed to measure flow fields around active suspensions, which, coupled with theoretical insight, has led to significant advances in the understanding of cell transport and the evolution of multicellular systems.

Professor Goldstein has served on various professional panels and committees as well as the editorial boards of several peer-reviewed journals. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and American Physical Society, and has received several prizes in recognition of his work, including the 2012 Ig Nobel Prize. Professor Goldstein remarked on winning this prestigious prize:

"I feel very honoured to have been awarded this prize, and to be in the company of the great fluid dynamicists who have won it previously. It is especially gratifying to see that our work at the intersection of the physical and life sciences has been recognized in this way. Although awarded to a single person, I consider the prize to be a testament to the fantastic collaborators I have had in Cambridge and beyond this past decade."

It is expected that the Prize winner will deliver a lecture at ICTAM, which will be published in the Journal of Fluid Mechanics and be made freely available on the Cambridge Journals website.

Past winners of the Batchelor Prize
2012 - Detlef Lohse
2008 - Howard Stone


The Rodney Hill Prize In Solid Mechanics awarded to
Dr. Raymond Ogden

- founded and sponsored by Elsevier (awarded under the auspices of IUTAM)

Elsevier prize 2016It is with pleasure that Elsevier and the International Union of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics jointly announce the award of the 2016 Rodney Hill Prize for contributions to the field of Solid Mechanics to Dr. Raymond Ogden of the University of Glasgow. This prize was founded by and is sponsored by Elsevier. The prize will be presented to Dr. Ogden at the 2016 International Congress of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics to be held in Montreal, Canada. Dr. Ogden currently holds the George Sinclair Chair of Mathematics in the School of Mathematics and Statistics of the University of Glasgow. He completed work toward a PhD degree in solid mechanics and applied mathematics at Cambridge University under the guidance of Professor Hill.

Throughout his distinguished career, Ogden has pioneered in the development of the continuum mechanics framework for the study of nonlinear material behavior and large deformation continuum mechanics. The constitutive law he proposed for rubber-like materials has been broadly adopted as a basis for numerical simulation. His 1984 book on Non-linear Elastic Deformations has become a classic in the field. Beginning with the constitutive description of rubber-like materials, now known as the Ogden model, he has developed constitutive descriptions of biological materials. In the past ten years, he has developed computational models of arterial walls that have been integrated into most commercial finite element codes. More recently, he has also pioneered in the development of constitutive descriptions for large amplitude deformation of soft materials that exhibit electromagnetic behavior.

Previous recipients:
    2008: Michael Ortiz
    2012: Huajian Gao

Invitation of nominations:

  1. A nomination should include a brief curriculum vitae (either narrative or outline in form, but no more than two pages in either case) of the candidate being nominated, a list of his/her publications during the period 2006-2015 with up to 10 of particular distinction being marked by asterisks, and a brief (no more than one page) statement of the case for making the award to the particular nominee. The deadline for such nominations is 1 June 2015.
  2. Nominations not following the foregoing guidelines will be returned to the nominator and will not receive further consideration.
  3. Nominations should be sent to the committee chairman, L. B. Freund, at before 1 June 2015.

The Journals in Solid Mechanics published by Elsevier

  • Journal of the Mechanics of Physics & Solids
  • International Journal of Solids & Structures
  • Mechanics of Materials
  • European Journal of Mechanics – A/Solids
  • Engineering Fracture Mechanics
  • International Journal of Plasticity
  • International Journal of Mechanical Sciences
  • International Journal of Fatigue
  • Theoretical & Applied Fracture Mechanics
  • International Journal of Pressure Vessels & Piping
  • Mechanics Research Communications

Criteria and background Nominations closed on June 1, 2015.